Dr. K. Sivan

Dr. Kailasavadivoo Sivan, Secretary, Department of Space, Chairman, Space Commission and Chairman, Indian Space Research Organization also known as “Rocket Man” of India is a renowned scientist known for his contribution to the development and operationalization of ISRO’s launch vehicle fleet.

Born to Sri. Kailasavadivoo and Smt. Chellam on April 14, 1957 in  SarakkalvilaiNagercoil in Kanyakumari district, Tamil Nadu, Dr. Sivan obtained Mathematics Honours degree from Hindu College, Nagercoil. Thereafter in 1980, he graduated from Madras Institute of Technology in Aeronautical engineering. He took his ME in Aerospace engineering from IISc, Bangalore in 1982. Subsequently, he completed his PhD in Aerospace engineering from IIT, Bombay in 2006. 

He has more than 30 years of experience in the systems engineering of the space transportation systems, leading diverse project teams for large and complex projects, and experience in technology development and infrastructure set-up for ISRO’s launch vehicle programs.